Having problems? Please mail us at sjoehl@wheatworld.org


The National Wheat Foundation announces the opening of the 2019 National Wheat Yield Contest. The Contest offers growers the opportunity to compete with their peers across the United States and learn from each other innovative techniques to improve wheat productivity on their farms.

Beginning with the 2019 Contest, National Awards will be determined on two levels to improve the competitiveness of the Contest. Each grower can only win one National Award as in past years.

  1. High Yield with no regard for USDA county averages. This is a new level included in the rules for 2019. The Contest will select the highest yielding entry from each State for each category. From this group of entries, National winners will be selected based on the highest yield.
  2. The percentage increase by which their measured yield exceeds the most recent 5-year Olympic county average, published annually by USDA. This level is the same as in the past years.

A grain sample from each Contest entry will be required to determine the quality of wheat produced under high yield management practices used in this wheat yield contest. It is imperative to bring quality top of mind to all wheat growers, and the Foundation believes quality is a necessary part to determine Contest winners. The submission of grain sample will be a requirement to qualify for national recognition.

The Contest features two primary competition categories: winter wheat and spring wheat, plus two subcategories: dryland and irrigated. Here is a breakdown on 2019 National Awards:

National Contest Awards

National Award Winner Categories For 2019 Contest
Category % Above USDA County Avg High Yield Basis
Winter Wheat Dryland 1st – 5th 1st - 5th
Winter Wheat Irrigated 1st1st
Spring Wheat Dryland 1st – 3rd 1st – 3rd
Spring Wheat Irrigated 1st 1st
Overall High Yield 1st
  • Irrigated entries from separate irrigated county averages published by USDA can compete in this category. If irrigated county averages not available from USDA, entry will compete in “High Yield” category.

These winners from each category & subcategory, along with the overall high yield winner, will be recognized at a wheat reception at the 2020 Commodity Classic to be held Feb. 27 – 29, 2020 in San Antonio, TX. More detail is provided in the Contest Rules provided on this log in page.

2018 National Wheat Yield Contest Results

National Winners

State Winners 2018 winter irrigated

State Winners 2018 spring irrigated

State Winners 2018 winter dryland

State Winners 2018 spring dryland

Registration Summary

Winter Wheat Spring Wheat Registration Fee
Early Registration Ends April 1st Ends June 15th $100.00
Registration Deadline May 15th August 1st $125.00
Must also be current member of State Wheat Association or NAWG.

A fee of $100 per variety if entered online by April 1 (winter wheat) or June 15 (spring wheat) is due upon submission. These dates are the early entry period for each class. After the early entry period has expired, a late entry fee of $125 per entry when entered online by May 15 (winter wheat) or August 1 (spring wheat) will be due.

Please make sure you are a member in good standing of a recognized state wheat grower association (or NAWG if from a state without a recognized state wheat grower association) before completing and submitting the NWYC Entry Form. All NWYC Entry and Harvest Report Forms, entry payments and weigh tickets must be submitted electronically. NO PAPER ENTRY AND HARVEST FORMS OR CHECKS WILL BE ACCEPTED. Please read all National Wheat Yield Contest Rules and Procedures located on this registration - log in page before submitting your entry form and payment. There will be no entry payment refunds. Thanks for your interest in the NWYC and good luck!

If you have any questions about the Contest Rules and processes, you can reach me through email or phone.
Email – sjoehl@wheatworld.org
Phone – 636-812-2709.

Our Sponsors
Grade 1
Grade 2
Grade 3
Grade 4
Grade 5